2/2/17

We have a piano. It’s had quite a trip. It was my mother-in-law’s childhood piano, built in Cincinnati and spending its first twenty years or so in Massachusetts. At some point it was shipped to London where it lived for the next few decades before turning up in Stockport last night. I’ve spent the last ten years coveting it from my in-laws’ dining table so I feel really honoured to now be its proud keeper.  It’s really lovely and D’s already been to work on it with the Brasso. He also found a 1980s cottage cheese tub inside it which had once been used as a homemade humidifier. Its guts need a bit of a hoover and it will need tuning although to my unenlightened ear it sounds pretty epic already. The only sticking point is that I can’t actually play the piano. But I shall be working on that shortly…

dsc_0016

Leave a Reply

